Friday, May 11, 2012

Trusty: The Paul Years (1989-1991)

Whoa, time flies. I can’t offer any excuses for neglecting this blog, won’t even try. Instead, I will just say sorry and get to it.

Trusty were the first band not from Washington, D.C. to release a record for Dischord in 1995, having hailed from Arkansas. Their early stuff, featured on this post, is pretty decent hardcore. It’s surprising, as the only exposure I had of them was their Dischord stuff, which was on the poppier side of things (“Goodbye, Dr. Fate” is cool, but do not expect tuneage like this).

This disc is well out of print and I hope it brightens up your downloading day.

1. Totally Blind
2. Mister Know-It-All
3. Soulmate
4. We Know
5. Trusty
6. Crack the Whip
7. String
8. Bitter
9. Stopwatch
10. Unhappy Jack
11. I Should Have Lied
13. Sweet n' Low
14. Never Leave My Dreams
15. R.S.V.P.
16. White Lies
17. S.T.P. / Wrong
18. Letter
19. Hey Santa
20. World We Live In
21. Home
22. Mean Mr. Mustard
23. Find Bircho
Download it now! Trusty

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Ministry of Truth: Significant Others (1985)

I cannot say I knew much about the band when I bought the record, but I figured any punk band cool enough to reference George Orwell and 1984 would be alright by me. And they are alright; just not awesome. The songs themselves are good, but the production does them no favours. Too bad, because it could’ve could’ve been so beautiful, could’ve been so right.

Still it is well worth a download.

Image is from Kill From The Heart

1. She's My Heroin

2. Killer Machine
3. Bound To Fall
4. Deep Inside
5. Peace Song
6. Time Is Gone
7. Scene Diego
8. Spinning Out
9. Magazine
10. Dim View
11. Wrong Place
12. Mininstry of Truth
13. T.B.C.

Download it now! Ministry of Truth